Shana Tova greeting: hear the prophet 3

Lukas 13:22-35

Orthodox Jewish Bible (OJB)

22 And Rebbe, Melech HaMoshiach was itinerating throughout the shtetlach (towns) and villages saying shiurim and heading on toward Yerushalayim.

23 And someone said to him, Adoni, are there only a few coming to Yeshuat Eloheinu? And Rebbe, Melech HaMoshiach said to them,

24 Strive to enter through the sha’ar hatzarut (gate of narrowness), because many, I say to you, will seek to enter and they will not be able to.

25 After the Baal Bayit gets up and shuts the delet, and you begin to stand outside and to knock on the delet, saying, Adoneinu, open up for us! And in reply, he will say to you, I do not have daas of you; from where are you from?

26 Then you will begin to say, We ate and drank in your presence, and in our rekhovot (streets) you taught.

27 And he will speak, saying to you, I do not know you, from where are you from? Go away from me, kol po’alei resha (all workers of evil)!

28 There will be weeping and gnashing of teeth, when you will see Avraham Avinu and Yitzchak and Yaakov and all the Neviim in the Malchut Hashem, but you yourselves being thrown out.

29 And they will come from mizrach (east) and maarav (west) and from tzafon (north) and darom (south) and they will be the ones bimesibba (reclining at tish) in the Malchut Hashem.

30 And there are some acharonim who will be rishonim and there are some rishonim who will be acharonim.

31 In the same hour some Perushim approached Rebbe, Melech HaMoshiach, saying to him, Depart and go from here, because Herod wants to kill you.

32 And Rebbe, Melech HaMoshiach said to them, Go and tell that fox, Hinei, I cast out shedim and I accomplish refuot (healings) hayom (today) and makhar (tomorrow) and Yom HaShlishi (The Third Day) I reach my goal.

33 Nevertheless, it is necessary for me to travel on hayom (today) and makhar (tomorrow) and the yom following, because it cannot be that a navi should have his violent death and his histalkus (passing) outside Yerushalayim.

34 O Yerushalayim, Yerushalayim, she who kills the Neviim and stones the ones sent to her! How often I wanted to gather your yeladim just as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, and you were not willing!

35 Hinei your Beis [HaMikdash] is left to you desolate; and I say to you, you shall by no means see me until the zman (time) comes when you say, BARUCH HABAH BSHEM ADONAI! [YIRMEYAH 12:17; TEHILLIM 118:26; RO 11:26]

_________________________

Luke 13:22-35

Names of God Bible (NOG)

The Narrow Door

22 Then Yeshua traveled and taught in one city and village after another on his way to Jerusalem.

23 Someone asked him, “Sir, are only a few people going to be saved?”

He answered, 24 “Try hard to enter through the narrow door. I can guarantee that many will try to enter, but they won’t succeed. 25 After the homeowner gets up and closes the door, it’s too late. You can stand outside, knock at the door, and say, ‘Sir, open the door for us!’ But he will answer you, ‘I don’t know who you are.’ 26 Then you will say, ‘We ate and drank with you, and you taught in our streets.’ 27 But he will tell you, ‘I don’t know who you are. Get away from me, all you evil people.’ 28 Then you will cry and be in extreme pain. That’s what you’ll do when you see Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and all the prophets. They’ll be in the kingdom of God, but you’ll be thrown out. 29 People will come from all over the world and will eat in the kingdom of God. 30 Some who are last will be first, and some who are first will be last.”

Jesus Warns Jerusalem

31 At that time some Pharisees told Yeshua, “Get out of here, and go somewhere else! Herod wants to kill you.”

32 Yeshua said to them, “Tell that fox that I will force demons out of people and heal people today and tomorrow. I will finish my work on the third day. 33 But I must be on my way today, tomorrow, and the next day. It’s not possible for a prophet to die outside Jerusalem.

34 “Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you kill the prophets and stone to death those sent to you! How often I wanted to gather your children together the way a hen gathers her chicks under her wings! But you were not willing! 35 Your house will be abandoned. I can guarantee that you will not see me again until you say, ‘Blessed is the one who comes in the name of the Lord!’”

1920s_Tel_Aviv_Jews_before_Rosh_Hashanah
1920s_Tel_Aviv_Jews_before_Rosh_Hashanah
