a prayer: Abraham and faith and undeserved privilege

a prayer: based on Romans 4:13-5:11 (in part) New Living Translation (NLT)

Dear Father: Clearly, You promise to give the whole earth to Abraham and his descendants was based on a right relationship with You that comes by faith.

So the promise is received by faith. It is given as a free gift. And I am all certain to receive it, if I have faith like Abraham’s. For Abraham is the father of all who believe. Even when there was no reason for hope, Abraham kept hoping—Abraham never wavered in believing Your promise. In fact, his faith grew stronger, and in this he brought glory to You. He was fully convinced that You are able to do whatever You promises. And because of Abraham’s faith, You counted him as righteous. And when You counted him as righteous, it wasn’t just for Abraham’s benefit. It was recorded for my benefit, too, assuring me that You will also count me as righteous if I believe in You, the one who raised Jesus my Lord from the dead. He was handed over to die because of my sins, and He was raised to life to make me right with You.

Therefore, since I have been made right in Your sight by faith, I have peace with You because of what Jesus Christ my Lord has done for me. Because of my faith, Christ has brought me into this place of undeserved privilege where I now stand, and I confidently and joyfully look forward to sharing Your glory.

I can rejoice, too, when I run into problems and trials, for I know that they help me develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens my confident hope of salvation. And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For I know how dearly You love me, because You have given me the Holy Spirit to fill my heart with Your love.

When I was utterly helpless, Christ came at just the right time and died for me- a sinner. Now, most people would not be willing to die for an upright person, though someone might perhaps be willing to die for a person who is especially good. But You showed Your great love for me by sending Christ to die for me while I was still a sinner. And since I have been made right in Your sight by the blood of Christ, He will certainly save me from Your condemnation. For since my friendship with You was restored by the death of Your Son while I was still Your enemy, I will certainly be saved through the life of Your Son. So now I can rejoice in my wonderful new relationship with You because my Lord Jesus Christ has made me a friend of You.

Yes I now  rejoice! I am now counted as righteous, not because of my work, but because of my faith in You who forgives sinners, just as Abraham believed You, and You counted him as righteous because of his faith. Thank You for Your wonderful great love for me. By faith I pray in Your Son Jesus’ name hand on bible

