Zechariah 4: The Holy Spirit will work with faith

two olive treesIn the Gospel (Good News) of Chapter three, we were told God sent His Son to remove sins and impute His righteousness on us. In Chapter four, God talks about the Good News of the Holy Spirit.

After the cleansing of the high priest by God (who sent His Son to atone and redeem), God promised the sending of the Holy Spirit.

Summary of this chapter:

  1. Re-building the temple of God will be done by the Holy Spirit. Not human efforts or human ability.
  2. Faith is the utmost foundational building block. God is pleased with even the first step of faith in action.
  3. Faith requires action aligned with the plumb line of God – the words of God.
  4. God is pleased with the evidence of faith.
  5. The Holy Spirit will work with faith and bring the work to completion.

Zechariah 4 New King James Version (NKJV)

Vision of the Lampstand and Olive Trees

Now the angel who talked with me came back and wakened me, as a man who is wakened out of his sleep. And he said to me, “What do you see?”

So I said, “I am looking, and there is a lampstand of solid gold with a bowl on top of it, and on the stand seven lamps with seven pipes to the seven lamps. Two olive trees are by it, one at the right of the bowl and the other at its left.” So I answered and spoke to the angel who talked with me, saying, “What are these, my lord?”

Then the angel who talked with me answered and said to me, “Do you not know what these are?”

And I said, “No, my lord.”

So he answered and said to me:

“This is the word of the Lord to Zerubbabel:
‘Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,’
Says the Lord of hosts.
‘Who are you, O great mountain?
Before Zerubbabel you shall become a plain!
And he shall bring forth the capstone
With shouts of “Grace, grace to it!”’”

Moreover the word of the Lord came to me, saying:

“The hands of Zerubbabel
Have laid the foundation of this temple;[a]
His hands shall also finish it.
Then you will know
That the Lord of hosts has sent Me to you.
10 For who has despised the day of small things?
For these seven rejoice to see
The plumb line in the hand of Zerubbabel.
They are the eyes of the Lord,
Which scan to and fro throughout the whole earth.”

11 Then I answered and said to him, “What are these two olive trees—at the right of the lampstand and at its left?” 12 And I further answered and said to him, “What are these two olive branches that drip into the receptacles[b] of the two gold pipes from which the golden oil drains?”

13 Then he answered me and said, “Do you not know what these are?

And I said, “No, my lord.”

14 So he said, “These are the two anointed ones, who stand beside the Lord of the whole earth.”

Footnotes:

  1. Zechariah 4:9 Literally house
  2. Zechariah 4:12 Literally into the hands of
And the saying pleased the whole multitude. And they chose Stephen, a man full of faith and the Holy Spirit, and Philip, Prochorus, Nicanor, Timon, Parmenas, and Nicolas, a proselyte from Antioch,

For he was a good man, full of the Holy Spirit and of faith. And a great many people were added to the Lord.

Listen, my beloved brethren: Has God not chosen the poor of this world to be rich in faith and heirs of the kingdom which He promised to those who love Him?

For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.

[ The Time Is Near ] Then he said to me, “These words are faithful and true.” And the Lord God of the holy prophets sent His angel to show His servants the things which must shortly take place.