True Prophets: Ezekiel and the Holy Spirit

ezekiel and wife goodbye

Prophet Ezekiel (born 622-prophesied until 570 BC),born into a priesthood (Kohen) lineage, received prophecies regarding the destruction of Jerusalem (which came true during his lifetime), the future restoration to the land of Israel and the Millennial Temple visions, or the Third Temple. As recorded in the first chapter, he personally encountered God, and was called by God at 30 years old, and saw spectacular visions of heavenly realms, including the third temple.

As part of his role as a prophetic sign, he lost his beloved wife when he was 34…and despite his deep sorrow which he was not allowed to express in the usual religious or human rituals, he has remained faithful and continued to pass on God’s messages in words and symbols/physical signs to a rebellious people (nation). But the theme of Ezekiel’s prophecy centers on the works of the Holy Spirit on prophets and prophecies.

Bonuses: River of healing (47:1-12)

Warning to prince, Levites and priests: 44:6-8 (as quoted below, at the end of this post)

Ezekiel 1

22 Spread out above them was a surface like the sky, glittering like crystal. 23 Beneath this surface the wings of each living being stretched out to touch the others’ wings, and each had two wings covering its body. 24 As they flew, their wings sounded to me like waves crashing against the shore or like the voice of the Almighty[e] or like the shouting of a mighty army. When they stopped, they let down their wings. 25 As they stood with wings lowered, a voice spoke from beyond the crystal surface above them.

26 Above this surface was something that looked like a throne made of blue lapis lazuli. And on this throne high above was a figure whose appearance resembled a man.27 From what appeared to be his waist up, he looked like gleaming amber, flickering like a fire. And from his waist down, he looked like a burning flame, shining with splendor.28 All around him was a glowing halo, like a rainbow shining in the clouds on a rainy day. This is what the glory of the Lord looked like to me. When I saw it, I fell face down on the ground, and I heard someone’s voice speaking to me.

Ezekiel and the Holy Spirit:

Ezekiel 2:2

The Spirit came into me as he spoke, and he set me on my feet. I listened carefully to his words.

Ezekiel 3:12

Then the Spirit lifted me up, and I heard a loud rumbling sound behind me. (May the glory of the Lord be praised in his place!)

Ezekiel 3:14

The Spirit lifted me up and took me away. I went in bitterness and turmoil, but the Lord’s hold on me was strong.

Ezekiel 3:24

Then the Spirit came into me and set me on my feet. He spoke to me and said, “Go to your house and shut yourself in.

Ezekiel 8:3

He reached out what seemed to be a hand and took me by the hair. Then the Spirit lifted me up into the sky and transported me to Jerusalem in a vision from God. I was taken to the north gate of the inner courtyard of the Temple, where there is a large idol that has made the Lord very jealous.

Ezekiel 11:1

Judgment on Israel’s Leaders ] Then the Spirit lifted me and brought me to the east gateway of the Lord’s Temple, where I saw twenty-five prominent men of the city. Among them were Jaazaniah son of Azzur and Pelatiah son of Benaiah, who were leaders among the people.

Ezekiel 11:2

The Spirit said to me, “Son of man, these are the men who are planning evil and giving wicked counsel in this city.

Ezekiel 11:5

Then the Spirit of the Lord came upon me, and he told me to say, “This is what the Lord says to the people of Israel: I know what you are saying, for I know every thought that comes into your minds.

Ezekiel 11:19

And I will give them singleness of heart and put a new spirit within them. I will take away their stony, stubborn heart and give them a tender, responsive heart,

Ezekiel 11:24

Afterward the Spirit of God carried me back again to Babylonia, to the people in exile there. And so ended the vision of my visit to Jerusalem.

Ezekiel 18:31

Put all your rebellion behind you, and find yourselves a new heart and a new spirit. For why should you die, O people of Israel?

Ezekiel 36:26

And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart.

Ezekiel 36:27

And I will put my Spirit in you so that you will follow my decrees and be careful to obey my regulations.

Ezekiel 37:1

A Valley of Dry Bones ] The Lord took hold of me, and I was carried away by the Spirit of the Lord to a valley filled with bones.

Ezekiel 37:14

I will put my Spirit in you, and you will live again and return home to your own land. Then you will know that I, the Lord, have spoken, and I have done what I said. Yes, the Lord has spoken!’”

Ezekiel 39:29

And I will never again turn my face from them, for I will pour out my Spirit upon the people of Israel. I, the Sovereign Lord, have spoken!”

Ezekiel 43:5

Then the Spirit took me up and brought me into the inner courtyard, and the glory of the Lord filled the Temple.

Ezekiel 2:2

The Spirit came into me as he spoke, and he set me on my feet. I listened carefully to his words.

Ezekiel 3:12

Then the Spirit lifted me up, and I heard a loud rumbling sound behind me. (May the glory of the Lord be praised in his place!)

Ezekiel 3:14

The Spirit lifted me up and took me away. I went in bitterness and turmoil, but the Lord’s hold on me was strong.

Ezekiel 3:24

Then the Spirit came into me and set me on my feet. He spoke to me and said, “Go to your house and shut yourself in.

Ezekiel 8:3

He reached out what seemed to be a hand and took me by the hair. Then the Spirit lifted me up into the sky and transported me to Jerusalem in a vision from God. I was taken to the north gate of the inner courtyard of the Temple, where there is a large idol that has made the Lord very jealous.

Ezekiel 11:1

Judgment on Israel’s Leaders ] Then the Spirit lifted me and brought me to the east gateway of the Lord’s Temple, where I saw twenty-five prominent men of the city. Among them were Jaazaniah son of Azzur and Pelatiah son of Benaiah, who were leaders among the people.

Ezekiel 11:2

The Spirit said to me, “Son of man, these are the men who are planning evil and giving wicked counsel in this city.

Ezekiel 11:5

Then the Spirit of the Lord came upon me, and he told me to say, “This is what the Lord says to the people of Israel: I know what you are saying, for I know every thought that comes into your minds.

Ezekiel 11:19

And I will give them singleness of heart and put a new spirit within them. I will take away their stony, stubborn heart and give them a tender, responsive heart,

Ezekiel 11:24

Afterward the Spirit of God carried me back again to Babylonia, to the people in exile there. And so ended the vision of my visit to Jerusalem.

Ezekiel 18:31

Put all your rebellion behind you, and find yourselves a new heart and a new spirit. For why should you die, O people of Israel?

Ezekiel 36:26

And I will give you a new heart, and I will put a new spirit in you. I will take out your stony, stubborn heart and give you a tender, responsive heart.

Ezekiel 36:27

And I will put my Spirit in you so that you will follow my decrees and be careful to obey my regulations.

Ezekiel 37:1

A Valley of Dry Bones ] The Lord took hold of me, and I was carried away by the Spirit of the Lord to a valley filled with bones.

Ezekiel 37:14

I will put my Spirit in you, and you will live again and return home to your own land. Then you will know that I, the Lord, have spoken, and I have done what I said. Yes, the Lord has spoken!’”

Ezekiel 39:29

And I will never again turn my face from them, for I will pour out my Spirit upon the people of Israel. I, the Sovereign Lord, have spoken!”

Ezekiel 43:5

Then the Spirit took me up and brought me into the inner courtyard, and the glory of the Lord filled the Temple.

A warning to churches (Christians) today: worship in the spirit (joined to the Lord’s Spirit) and truth (Biblical) only

congregation: People with their hearts for God only.

leaders of worship and words: Those anointed by God only.

Ezekiel 44:6-8 New Living Translation (NLT)

And give these rebels, the people of Israel, this message from the Sovereign Lord: O people of Israel, enough of your detestable sins! You have brought uncircumcised foreigners into my sanctuary—people who have no heart for God. In this way, you defiled my Temple even as you offered me my food, the fat and blood of sacrifices. In addition to all your other detestable sins, you have broken my covenant. Instead of safeguarding my sacred rituals, you have hired foreigners to take charge of my sanctuary.