true prophets: how God views a prophet’s words (continued)

We continue to read how God views a true prophet’s words.

God told prophet Ezekiel that a prophet’s words will be respected. How can Ezekiel be sure? Because God will make those prophetic words come true. Why? God wants His people to know He is God.

Ezekiel 29:21 “And the day will come when I will cause the ancient glory of Israel to revive, and then, Ezekiel, your words will be respected. Then they will know that I am the Lord.”

God wakes up prophet Isaiah every morning and gives him God’s words of wisdom and understanding so that Isaiah will carry out God’s will.

Isaiah 50:4 [ The Lord’s Obedient Servant ] “The Sovereign Lord has given me his words of wisdom, so that I know how to comfort the weary. Morning by morning he wakens me and opens my understanding to his will.”

God sends His Spirit to ensure that Ezekiel can hear Him and carry out accurately. He wants the prophet to be focused and respectful to His words. He looks at Ezekiel’s attitude.

Ezekiel 2:1-3 “Stand up, son of man,” said the voice. “I want to speak with you.” The Spirit came into me as he spoke, and he set me on my feet. I listened carefully to his words. “Son of man,” he said, “I am sending you to the nation of Israel, a rebellious nation that has rebelled against me. They and their ancestors have been rebelling against me to this very day.

Not everyone can hear and understand God, even when they meet God. Without the anointing from the Holy Spirit, it is impossible to understand God. Even Jesus’ closest disciples failed to ‘hear’ (with understanding) Jesus while He was on earth, as recorded below:

“Taking the twelve disciples aside, Jesus said, “Listen, we’re going up to Jerusalem, where all the predictions of the prophets concerning the Son of Man will come true. 32 He will be handed over to the Romans, and he will be mocked, treated shamefully, and spit upon. 33 They will flog him with a whip and kill him, but on the third day he will rise again.”

34 But they didn’t understand any of this. The significance of his words was hidden from them, and they failed to grasp what he was talking about.” (Luke 18:31-34)

