God’s glory and name

His name and glory

God’s glory and His name come together.

Ponder this truth: When we use the name of Jesus to pray we come into the presence of His glory. When we use the name of Jesus we bring glory to Him. Jesus has given His believers the authority of His name. But there is one condition as follows:

Exodus 20: 7 You shall not misuse the name of the Lord your God, for the Lord will not hold anyone guiltless who misuses his name.

James 4:3-4 New Living Translation (NLT)

And even when you ask, you don’t get it because your motives are all wrong—you want only what will give you pleasure.

You adulterers![a] Don’t you realize that friendship with the world makes you an enemy of God? I say it again: If you want to be a friend of the world, you make yourself an enemy of God.

Footnotes:

4:4 Greek You adulteresses!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~(boldness added)

Bible verse for today’s meditation: God’s name and glory

[ Psalm 8 ] [ For the choir director: A psalm of David, to be accompanied by a stringed instrument. ] O Lord, our Lord, your majestic name fills the earth! Your glory is higher than the heavens.
Honor the Lord for the glory of his name. Worship the Lord in the splendor of his holiness.
O God, we give glory to you all day long and constantly praise your name. Interlude
Sing about the glory of his name! Tell the world how glorious he is.
Praise his glorious name forever! Let the whole earth be filled with his glory. Amen and amen!
Help us, O God of our salvation! Help us for the glory of your name. Save us and forgive our sins for the honor of your name.
With all my heart I will praise you, O Lord my God. I will give glory to your name forever,
[ Psalm 115 ] Not to us, O Lord, not to us, but to your name goes all the glory for your unfailing love and faithfulness.
For the glory of your name, O Lord, preserve my life. Because of your faithfulness, bring me out of this distress.
Let them all praise the name of the Lord. For his name is very great; his glory towers over the earth and heaven!
In eastern lands, give glory to the Lord. In the lands beyond the sea, praise the name of the Lord, the God of Israel.
“I am the Lord; that is my name! I will not give my glory to anyone else, nor share my praise with carved idols.
The nations will see your righteousness. World leaders will be blinded by your glory. And you will be given a new name by the Lord’s own mouth.
As a loincloth clings to a man’s waist, so I created Judah and Israel to cling to me, says the Lord. They were to be my people, my pride, my glory—an honor to my name. But they would not listen to me.
“Blessings on the King who comes in the name of the Lord! Peace in heaven, and glory in highest heaven!”
Father, bring glory to your name.” Then a voice spoke from heaven, saying, “I have already brought glory to my name, and I will do so again.”
You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father.
Through Christ, God has given us the privilege and authority as apostles to tell Gentiles everywhere what God has done for them, so that they will believe and obey him, bringing glory to his name.
He also came so that the Gentiles might give glory to God for his mercies to them. That is what the psalmist meant when he wrote: “For this, I will praise you among the Gentiles; I will sing praises to your name.”
