singing with grace in your heart for God

20150113_141419

Today’s message: singing with grace in your heart for God.

Character of the New Man

12 Therefore, as the elect of God, holy and beloved, put on tender mercies, kindness, humility, meekness, longsuffering; 13 bearing with one another, and forgiving one another, if anyone has a complaint against another; even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do. 14 But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection. 15 And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. 16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. 17 And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.

(Colossians 3:12-17)

How to sing with grace? “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom!” Here are some praises and songs from the psalmists.

I will be glad and rejoice in You; I will sing praise to Your name, O Most High.

Therefore I will give thanks to You, O Lord, among the Gentiles, And sing praises to Your name.

Be exalted, O Lord, in Your own strength! We will sing and praise Your power.

Sing praise to the Lord, you saints of His, And give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name.

I will praise You, O Lord, among the peoples; I will sing to You among the nations.

But I will sing of Your power; Yes, I will sing aloud of Your mercy in the morning; For You have been my defense And refuge in the day of my trouble.

To You, O my Strength, I will sing praises; For God is my defense, My God of mercy.

So I will sing praise to Your name forever, That I may daily perform my vows.

All the earth shall worship You And sing praises to You; They shall sing praises to Your name.” Selah

Oh, let the nations be glad and sing for joy! For You shall judge the people righteously, And govern the nations on earth. Selah

Sing to God, you kingdoms of the earth; Oh, sing praises to the Lord, Selah

Also with the lute I will praise YouAnd Your faithfulness, O my God! To You I will sing with the harp, O Holy One of Israel.

My lips shall greatly rejoice when I sing to You, And my soul, which You have redeemed.

[ Remembering the Covenant with David, and Sorrow for Lost Blessings ] [ A Contemplation of Ethan the Ezrahite. ] I will sing of the mercies of the Lord forever; With my mouth will I make known Your faithfulness to all generations.

[ Praise to the Lord for His Love and Faithfulness ] [ A Psalm. A Song for the Sabbath day. ] It is good to give thanks to the Lord, And to sing praises to Your name, O Most High;

[ Promised Faithfulness to the Lord ] [ A Psalm of David. ] I will sing of mercy and justice; To You, O Lord, I will sing praises.

I will praise You, O Lord, among the peoples, And I will sing praises to You among the nations.

2 thoughts on “singing with grace in your heart for God

Comments are closed.