Journey to see God: God of unfailing love

We love Him because He first loved us
We love Him because He first loved us

Guess who was the first person recorded in the Bible to describe God as the God of unfailing love? Abraham’s servant.
Genesis 24:12
“O Lord, God of my master, Abraham,” he prayed. “Please give me success today, and show unfailing love to my master, Abraham.
Genesis 24:27
“Praise the Lord, the God of my master, Abraham,” he said. “The Lord has shown unfailing love and faithfulness to my master, for he has led me straight to my master’s relatives.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The second man was Moses:
Exodus 15:13
“With your unfailing love you lead the people you have redeemed. In your might, you guide them to your sacred home.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
God described Himself to Moses:
Exodus 20:6
But I lavish unfailing love for a thousand generations on those who love me and obey my commands.
Exodus 34:6
The Lord passed in front of Moses, calling out, “Yahweh! The Lord! The God of compassion and mercy! I am slow to anger and filled with unfailing love and faithfulness.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Both king David and king Solomon knew:
2 Samuel 22:51
You give great victories to your king; you show unfailing love to your anointed, to David and all his descendants forever.”
1 Kings 8:23
and he prayed, “O Lord, God of Israel, there is no God like you in all of heaven above or on the earth below. You keep your covenant and show unfailing love to all who walk before you in wholehearted devotion.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The leaders of the remnants: The Bible teacher Ezra and Nehemiah, the governor builder of Jerusalem walls also knew and personally experienced:
Ezra 7:28
And praise him for demonstrating such unfailing love to me by honoring me before the king, his council, and all his mighty nobles! I felt encouraged because the gracious hand of the Lord my God was on me. And I gathered some of the leaders of Israel to return with me to Jerusalem.
Nehemiah 1:5
Then I said, “O Lord, God of heaven, the great and awesome God who keeps his covenant of unfailing love with those who love him and obey his commands,
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The psalmists (poets) were full of praises for God’s unfailing love. Here are two examples taken from the beginning and the end of psalms:
Psalm 5:7
Because of your unfailing love, I can enter your house; I will worship at your Temple with deepest awe.
Psalm 147:11
No, the Lord’s delight is in those who fear him, those who put their hope in his unfailing love.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The prophets’ testimonies of God’s unfailing love:
Isaiah 63:7
[Praise for Deliverance] I will tell of the Lord’s unfailing love. I will praise the Lord for all he has done. I will rejoice in his great goodness to Israel, which he has granted according to his mercy and love.
Joel 2:13
Don’t tear your clothing in your grief, but tear your hearts instead.” Return to the Lord your God, for he is merciful and compassionate, slow to get angry and filled with unfailing love. He is eager to relent and not punish.
Micah 7:18
Where is another God like you, who pardons the guilt of the remnant, overlooking the sins of his special people? You will not stay angry with your people forever, because you delight in showing unfailing love.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Finally, the testimony of John the beloved apostle of Jesus Christ:
John 1:14
So the Word became human and made his home among us. He was full of unfailing love and faithfulness. And we have seen his glory, the glory of the Father’s one and only Son.
John 1:17
For the law was given through Moses, but God’s unfailing love and faithfulness came through Jesus Christ.

John 17:3

And this is the way to have eternal life—to know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, the one you sent to earth.