Prophet Micah: “Betrayed!”

Balaam-and-donkey
Balaam-and-donkey

After I posted Micah’s first message yesterday morning I went to church. I heard the choir sing Chris Tomlin’s Amazing Grace and these lyrics stood out, “I once was lost but now I am found; was blind but now I see.” My yesterday’s post described the urgent call to pray for a nation that was once ‘found’ but now ‘lost’, once ‘seeing’ but now ‘blind’. The preacher then preached on what Jesus foretold His disciples before He was arrested. He taught on the theme of ‘betrayal’ in some verses from Matthew 26. In my post I highlighted (in boldness) the forewarning that the people of God would lose their right to “those who betrayed us.

(Note: I used the picture of the ungodly prophet Balaam and his donkey to illustrate the fact that being a prophet who supposedly hears God does not mean he is better than a faithful donkey who hears God and fears God.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~Bible verses from Old Testament

Micah 2

4 In that day your enemies will make fun of you
by singing this song of despair about you:
“We are finished,
completely ruined!
God has confiscated our land,
taking it from us.
He has given our fields
to those who betrayed us.”
5 Others will set your boundaries then,
and the Lord’s people will have no say
in how the land is divided.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~Bible verses from New Testament

[ Judas Agrees to Betray Jesus ] Then Judas Iscariot, one of the twelve disciples, went to the leading priests
and asked, “How much will you pay me to betray Jesus to you?” And they gave him thirty pieces of silver.
From that time on, Judas began looking for an opportunity to betray Jesus.
While they were eating, he said, “I tell you the truth, one of you will betray me.”
He replied, “One of you who has just eaten from this bowl with me will betray me.
For the Son of Man must die, as the Scriptures declared long ago. But how terrible it will be for the one who betrays him. It would be far better for that man if he had never been born!”
Judas, the one who would betray him, also asked, “Rabbi, am I the one?” And Jesus told him, “You have said it.”
Then he came to the disciples and said, “Go ahead and sleep. Have your rest. But look—the time has come. The Son of Man is betrayed into the hands of sinners.
Up, let’s be going. Look, my betrayer is here!”
[ Jesus Is Betrayed and Arrested ] And even as Jesus said this, Judas, one of the twelve disciples, arrived with a crowd of men armed with swords and clubs. They had been sent by the leading priests and elders of the people.