the purpose of the signs of God

November sky

Because Jesus expects His believers to see the specific signs of God clearly and accurately, we know we can see signs. What is the purpose? So that we can be alert and take heed to live a holy and godly life on earth. For the unbelievers Jesus uses signs to demonstrate that there is a Kingdom of God ruled and reigned by Jesus. The Bible states clearly that at the end  time Jesus will return to earth preceded by signs. By then all men can see and be terrified, “the earth and the works that are on it will be burned up.” (2 Peter 3:10)

Christians are thus reminded: the signs are not to make us proud or superior. We are to self-examine and ask ourselves about our conduct and life on earth. “Do I align with God’s purpose of holy conduct and godliness? Do I live to anticipate the final fulfillment of the Kingdom of God on earth?” We read 2 Peter 3 (in parts) below:

10 But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night, in which the heavens will pass away with a great noise, and the elements will melt with fervent heat; both the earth and the works that are in it will be burned up.[c] 11 Therefore, since all these things will be dissolved, what manner of persons ought you to be in holy conduct and godliness… 13 Nevertheless we, according to His promise, look for new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells.

14 Therefore, beloved, looking forward to these things, be diligent to be found by Him in peace, without spot and blameless…

17 You therefore, beloved, since you know this beforehand, beware lest you also fall from your own steadfastness, being led away with the error of the wicked; 18 but grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To Him be the glory both now and forever. Amen.

What does Jesus expect us to do? We do what He has done on earth. In John 14 (which I have quoted in parts and added boldness. Please read the whole chapter yourself) Jesus gave this assurance to his disciples: What He will do and what we  should be and do. He began and closed His instruction by telling us not to let fear rule our heart. Let Peace (Jesus) rule.

 In summary, Jesus told us (all born again believers of Jesus) to be and do the following according to His promise:

Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be afraid. Keep believing [confidently] in God and trust in Him (Jesus). Believe that Jesus is the only way to God. Know (intimately, by staying in His presence) Jesus and the Father (God). Believe, read and obey His word, and be led by the Holy Spirit in us. Stay in the peace that Jesus has given to us. With the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit, do what Jesus has done.

1“Do not let your heart be troubled (afraid, cowardly). Believe [confidently] in God and trust in Him, [have faith, hold on to it, rely on it, keep going and] believe also in Me.

Jesus said to him, [a]I am the [only] Way [to God] and the [real] Truth and the [real] Life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.7 If you had [really] known Me, you would also have known My Father. From now on you know Him, and have seen Him.”10 Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father is in Me? The words I say to you I do not say on My own initiative or authority, but the Father, abiding continually in Me, does His works [His attesting miracles and acts of power].12 I assure you and most solemnly say to you, anyone who believes in Me [as Savior] will also do the things that I do; and he will do even greater things than these [in extent and outreach], because I am going to the Father.14 If you ask Me anything in My name [as My representative], I will do it.15 If you [really] love Me, you will keep and obey My commandments.16 And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another [c]Helper (Comforter, Advocate, Intercessor—Counselor, Strengthener, Standby), to be with you forever— 17 the Spirit of Truth, whom the world cannot receive [and take to its heart] because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He (the Holy Spirit) remains with you continually and will be in you.18 “I will not leave you as orphans [comfortless, bereaved, and helpless]; I will come [back] to you.25 “I have told you these things while I am still with you. 26 But the [d]Helper (Comforter, Advocate, Intercessor—Counselor, Strengthener, Standby), the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name [in My place, to represent Me and act on My behalf], He will teach you all things. And He will help you remember everything that I have told you. 27 Peace I leave with you; My [perfect] peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be afraid. [Let My perfect peace calm you in every circumstance and give you courage and strength for every challenge.]

