Taking Holy Communion

image

I do some ritualistic actions like taking the Holy Communion daily without fail. I do it because I am convicted to do it. I take the time to remember what the Lord Jesus has done. I take the time to read and proclaim the words of God. I take the time to listen to the Lord, pray and intercede as the Spirit of the Lord leads me. It is always a person time between my Lord and me. My intercession during the Holy Communion time is always for a small group of close ones: my family and loved ones, my former house group (a few families). Why do I limit my prayer to this tiny group? I have no answer or explanation. I just know this is a private personal time and I hold up to my Lord those who are dearest to my heart at this time. I believe the Lord’s Spirit has led me. This private time with my Lord is always a very precious experience. I rise early, usually well before others rise. I prepare the cup and the bread. I identify a spot at the living room where I can kneel down and pray. I kneel down. I take the Holy Communion. I intercede and petition. When traveling I confine myself to my room. It works for me just the same. I always have a spot where I can commune with my Lord in privacy. Taking the bread and the cup is a private matter for me when living among people who do not do this practice. Have my prayers been answered and granted? My answer is yes. I have no doubt that the Lord has answered and granted my requests. Have I ever grown tired of this ‘ritual’? My answer is no. I have done this for a long time and I have always encountered my Lord afresh in this morning hour. Never tired. If someone does not do this will their prayers ad petitions be answered and granted? I have no answer. That someone has to answer himself. I enjoy my time this way as I kneel before the Lord and pour out my heart to prepare myself and my loved ones for another day. I cannot remember how long have I been doing this. It’s not important. The fact that I am doing it today matters. Today is the day that really matters. Today I stay close to my Lord. This matters. Is this the only way to stay close to Him? I have no answer for you. I have only my own experience to stand on. One thing I can testify is that taking the bread and the cup has a beneficial spiritual significance for those who believe. For that matters, Christianity is spiritual. I am speaking out of my own personal experience. So there is no condemnation for anyone who does not believe in the spirituality of Christianity. Two things are fundamental truth in Christianity: God is Spirit. We live by faith. Taking the Holy Communion is my faith in the unseen God in action. Here are my favorite Bible verses from Jesus in John 6: 35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.” 51 “I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats this bread will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.” 54 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day. 55 For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink. 56 Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in Me, and I in them. 57 Just as the living Father sent Me and I live because of the Father, so the one who feeds on Me will live because of Me.  

One thought on “Taking Holy Communion

Comments are closed.