Taking Holy Communion (2)

20160218_053442-1.jpgI do faith in action. Today I continue on the subject of taking Holy Communion. This is my personal testimony. Do not feel condemned if you experience otherwise. Because I have been away for a long time from this place the place has become dusty and not as tidy. When houses and things are not in use for sometime things gather and need to be cleansed, both physically and spiritually.

The first night things happened as I was unpacking. I bumped my head twice, once on the treadmill and then on the bathroom handle. I was surprised as it had not happened to me for a long time. I became alert after that. As I arranged for the place to be thoroughly cleaned physically I cleansed the spiritual scene myself in separate acts of faith.

One of my normal supernatural faith in action is taking Holy Communion. I have written on this in my previous blog post.

Today as I was preparing to take my Holy Communion, I was reminded of the furniture. I often kneel down and pray at a low glass and wood coffee table. The floor tiles had been mopped once by the cleaner/helper. But the coffee table is dusty and the floor has been exposed to the elements in the last two weeks and are dusty too.  Yesterday my spirit received this prompting but I was in a hurry and my mind was on the unresolved internet access issue involving my new MacBook. So I just took the Holy Communion anyway without cleaning the furniture.

But the prompting came again today. This time I was wide awake and repented for my own treating God’s words and God lightly. My Bible opened to Leviticus 13:1-59 wherein God commanded Moses to deal with serous skin diseases and contamination of clothing. The clothing contaminated by mildew was to be completely destroyed by fire regardless its value. The priest was to put the affected item in quarantine for seven days and destroyed them if the contaminated area had spread. I asked the Lord what the key teaching is. I received the word: Be serious about the Lord’s standard of cleanliness. God has nor changed His standard.

This word, “seriousness” rings in my ears. I have not been serious over many matters like whether the floor or the table I use are clean or not. Once because I was in a hurry I did not bother to dry the little saucer I used to place the biscuit for the Holy Communion. My attitude was not serious about the matter of God.

The traditional priest is careful and treats the Holy Communion and all utensils and furniture with care, in reverential fear of the Lord. What makes Christian today assumes that we can just do what we like and treat God as an ordinary common man in the street who does not bother with such matters? The reminder is “Beware”. God is holy.

When coming to the holy presence of God we must be serious. Holiness is a serious attitude before God. Holiness involves the whole preparation (physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual) to come to meet with the holy God. The ancient people of Israel treated God’s matters with carelessness which really meant they treated God (as revealed in His words) with unbelief and contempt. And they were slain.

When we come to God we minister to Him as royal and holy priests:

1 Peter 2:5 New Living Translation (NLT) And you are living stones that God is building into his spiritual temple. What’s more, you are his holy priests.[a] Through the mediation of Jesus Christ, you offer spiritual sacrifices that please God.

Footnotes:

  1. 2:5 Greek holy priesthood.

Old Testament teaching: 

I am the Lord, who brought you up out of Egypt to be your God; therefore be holy, because am holy.
“Speak to the entire assembly of Israel and say to them: ‘Be holy because I, the Lord your God, am holy.
“‘Consecrate yourselves and be holy, because I am the Lord your God.
Keep my decrees and follow them. I am the Lord, who makes you holy.
You are to be holy to me because I, the Lord, am holy, and I have set you apart from the nations to be my own.

yet because of his defect, he must not go near the curtain or approach the altar, and so desecrate my sanctuary. I am the Lord, who makes them holy.’”

“‘The priests are to perform my service in such a way that they do not become guilty and die for treating it with contempt. I am the Lord, who makes them holy.
by allowing them to eat the sacred offerings and so bring upon them guilt requiring payment.I am the Lord, who makes them holy.’”
Do not profane my holy name, for I must be acknowledged as holy by the Israelites. I am theLord, who made you holy.

For the Lord your God moves about in your camp to protect you and to deliver your enemies to you. Your camp must be holy, so that he will not see among you anything indecent and turn away from you.
I am the Lord, your Holy One, Israel’s Creator, your King.”
This is what the Lord says— your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the Lord your God, who teaches you what is best for you, who directs you in the way you should go.

Her priests do violence to my law and profane my holy things; they do not distinguish between the holy and the common; they teach that there is no difference between the unclean and the clean; and they shut their eyes to the keeping of my Sabbaths, so that I am profaned among them.

New Testament teaching:

But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people.

You are witnesses, and so is God, of how holy, righteous and blameless we were among you who believed.

on the day he comes to be glorified in his holy people and to be marveled at among all those who have believed. This includes you, because you believed our testimony to you.

for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.”