taking Holy Communion and receiving the words on parenting

20160227_095542 copy 2Taking the Holy communion is a faith in action. When I partake the body and blood of Jesus I receive from Him what I have otherwise overlooked and taken for granted in my busyness an preoccupation with other matters and things. It is a spiritual time. A time of spiritual focus. I like this verse from Paul in 1 Corinthians 6:17 which declares this truth: A person can be joined to Jesus in the spirit. “But the person who is joined to the Lord is one spirit with Him.”

Jesus has taught that His disciple can and must remain in Him as a branch remains in the vine. “Remain in Me and I will remain in you…But if you remain in Me and My words remain in you, you may ask anything you want, and it will be granted! ” (John 15:1-8)

How can this be accomplished? I believe it is through the Holy Communion as an act of faith and by this faith we receive as we read His words with the Holy Communion. Jesus Himself has said this, “Anyone who eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in Me and I in him.” (John 6:56)

I always read the Bible as I partake the Holy Communion. The Lord sends His words and teaches me with His Spirit as I join to Him in my spirit through the Holy Communion.

Today I received His words on parenting as I opened the Bible after I prepared the bread and the cup. I always read the Bible before I partake the Holy Communion. the passage from Luke 9 described the transfiguration of Jesus on the mountain and the healing of a demon-possessed boy after Jesus and His three disciples came down from the mountain the next day.

Here is how the demon-possessed boy was described:

An evil spirit keeps seizing him, making him scream, It throws him into convulsions so that he foams at the mouth. It batters him and hardly ever leaves him alone.” (Luke 9:39)

When the Bible opened to this passage and description of a young boy, I recalled one event I witnessed in the toy department of a supermarket yesterday. A very young boy suddenly screamed and gained super-human strength, kicked and beat his dad and threw a violent tantrum. he also battered himself. He kept screaming, “I want that! I want that! Give me! Buy! I want that! I want!!! You deaf? Hear me!!!” His mouth foamed and his eyes turned violent like he was another person inside, not an innocent little boy but an evil spiritual presence. He threw himself on the ground and started twisting his body like that of a viper. A cunning and evil beast looked out of his eyes. The dad was totally embarrassed and did not know what to do and where to turn. Everyone else pretended not to hear or see this commotion. The mother was presumably in the grocery section and did not take part in this scene.

Jesus commented on the cause of this failure in parenting: “You faithless and corrupt people!” (Luke 9:4) Faithless goes with corruption.By taking their children away from Jesus the parents have chosen to expose them to a faithless and corrupt world, possessed and dominated by the evil spirits.

Jesus has also given His solution: “Bring your son here.” By bringing their children to Jesus they have safely cut off such unholy ties with the evil spirits and put themselves under the holy, safe and unpolluted protection of Jesus in the Kingdom of God.

What is required to bring the children back to God’s protection? The parents are required two things. LET US LOOK AT TODAY’S DICTIONARY:

a corrupt society: immoral, depraved, degenerate, reprobate, vice-ridden, perverted, debauched, dissolute, dissipated, bad, wicked, evil, base, sinful, ungodly, unholy, irreligious, profane, impious, impure; informal warped. ANTONYMS moral.

a faithless society: unbelieving, nonbelieving, irreligious, disbelieving, agnostic, atheistic; pagan, heathen.

God wants FAITH and MORAL virtues in the parents. 

Why do children open themselves to demon-possession? Because of the above prevalent culture and value of the societies. When the hearts of the children turn to such values they turn away from their parents. The coming of Jesus turns the hearts of the children back to their parents and vice versa.

In the last verse of the last chapter in the last book of the Old Testament, prophet Malachi spoke this prophecy about Jesus:

“His preaching will turn the hearts of fathers to their children, and the hearts of children to their fathers. Otherwise I will come and strike the land with a curse.” (Malachi 4:6)