9th week 3rd day: My God

20151128_135632 copy
Do not despise the day of small things -Zechariah 4:10

When I kneel before God, in His holy presence, I know in my spirit He talks to me daily. In truth and in spirit I know. This morning I discovered to my horror that for several days I had been drinking a paper carton of ‘fresh’ milk that had gone bad even when I purchased it from a vendor who normally does not sell fresh milk. I noted the texture of the milk that floated on top of my coffee which did not look right. My dessert did not taste right when I topped it with this milk. The food looked and tasted strange. Yet I continued taking it daily. It did not give me second thought. I trusted the writing on the carton that said, “Valid until March 16”. In fact the unrealistic long expiry date should have alerted me. The ‘unqualified’ vendor from whom I made the purchase should have made me wonder before my purchase. But I was a sticker to label. The label clearly says, OK. The carton was in fact bulging and I chose to ignore its shape. Something that made it turn foul had entered it. The Lord asked me to look at all the signs which clearly pointed to imperfection and contamination. Yet I chose to continue ignoring the signs. Then the Lord even asked me to smell the milk. I smelled it and it smelled funny. Not right. But I insisted on putting it back into my refrigerator. This morning as I took the milk out and the Lord said, “taste it as it is and not mix it with other stuff.” I poured a bit into a cup and tasted it. It was yucky. It smelled disgusting too. Then it dawned on me that I had been a real stubborn fool, taking ‘poison’ for days and refusing to hear the Lord’s kind and wise advice. Yes, in a way, I actually acted out what the Israelites did when they refused to listen to God’s kind and timely advice and obey His perfect and good commands through His Holy Spirit. God is merciful and keeps granting my daily generic prayer and prayer for each meal too for supernatural protection against poison or other unclean effects , because I have not suffered any bad stomach at all having been consuming such foul stuff daily!

Today’s message from Leviticus 22-23 to me speaks exactly of this subject of contamination. God speaks of His holy and purity standard for sacrifices. He again makes a clear and specific distinction between the clean and the unclean in His eyes. He speaks of the unacceptability of contamination (defects).

There is a spiritual context in this teaching: Why does God want perfection and purity? Here is His answer: Leviticus 22:31-33 (All Scriptures are quoted from the New Living Translation Holy Bible unless otherwise noted)

“You must faithfully keep all my commands by putting them into practice, for I am the Lord. Do not bring shame on my holy name, for I will display my holiness among the people of Israel. I am the Lord who makes you holy. It was I who rescued you from the land of Egypt, that I might be your God. I am the lord.”

Another message that speaks to me as I kneel there interceding for my family and loved ones, “This is a permanent law for you, and it must be observed from generation to generation wherever you live.” (Leviticus 23:31) “This will remind each new generation of Israelites that I made their ancestors live in shelters when I rescued them from the land of Egypt. I am the Lord your God.” (Leviticus 23:43) God’s laws are for perpetuity. (One definition of the word ‘perpetuity: a bond or other security with no fixed maturity.) The purpose is for safeguard for the people of God from generation to generation, as long as the spiritual lineage of each generation continues in its purity as the chosen special holy nation of God. The people of the Kingdom of God that Jesus has bought with His own pure and unblemished blood . As read in Hebrews the revelations God gave to Moses are previews of the real good things that Jesus has brought after Moses. The holy and purity principles and goodness of those holy things and a holy lifestyle have never changed. Because God is the God for Moses and also the God for all Christians past, present and forever.

Why have I not listened to God in the matter of the spoiled milk? I ask myself. I ask the Lord. Here is the answer I received:

“Because you think I am the God only for big things. Am I not the God for small sparrows? Do I not concern for small details? My ‘PATTERN’ shows every detail.”

Zechariah 4:10 New King James Version (NKJV)

10 For who has despised the day of small things?
For these seven rejoice to see
The plumb line in the hand of Zerubbabel.
They are the eyes of the Lord,
Which scan to and fro throughout the whole earth.”

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s reading from the One Year Holy Bible: Leviticus 22:17-23:44; Mark 9:30-10:12; Psalm 33:1-11; Proverbs 10:19