Further thought about the thief and stressor

I am prompted to share about work stress today. One common complaint I received from young and old employees in various professions, enterprises, and corporations is there is someone or some people in the organization in which they happen to be employed who is against them and is the cause of all stress. The person(s) is a Stressor. Oppressor. Tyrant. Slave-master. Kill-joy. Trouble-maker. Nagger. Back-biter. Cheater. Liar. Bully. Just fill up the blank here for whatever name you may want to call him or her or them ____________ for causing your misery in work. When I recall my first employment for several months as a temporary teacher, and the subsequent various jobs I had after I graduated there seemed to be someone in each firm/organization who fitted into the above categories of stressors. Thinking back today there seemed to be always one such person in each department and each location. What solution I used in those dark and gloomy days bombarded by tongues that lashed at me for no apparent reason or ration? I merely remained silent regardless whether I agreed or did not agree to the other party’s persisting irrational accusations. I got my work done. I improved and upgraded myself in quality and quantity. By doing so I stayed out of trouble and was promoted much faster than those who fought back. Some left. I stayed. I traveled much and encountered and worked with all sorts. A new stressor seemed to appear in each new firm, new scene, new workplace, new whatever. I stayed untouched and unpolluted. I stayed apart from company politics and was not affected by its strife. I remained in peace. I kept peace. How did I acquire this lifestyle? I believe my turning point was when I was born again. What I learned then was to remain in my personal worth which no one could ever take away. My worth is not given by others. God has given me my worth. This morning when I read the Bible verses on John 10 I understand that Jesus actually warned of such a thief who can steal joy and peace. The thief is always around in each organization. What Christians need to do is to listen to the voice of Jesus all the time. When we listen to Jesus we do not hear the thief anymore. He or she or they will not be a stressor to us. One thing I am reminded is that we too may unwittingly become a stressor to others. Over the years I have learned to be a friend instead of a judge to my colleagues: bosses and subordinates and customers (all segments in the chain of working relation involving the company and my work). Being a friend does not mean I join the wickedness of causing strife (which in turn causes every evil according to the Bible). Being a friend means I look out for every opportunity to speak and share good words and values with the person with whom I interact. Even today I continue to apply this motto as I travel and meet and interact with strangers and others. Listening to Jesus becomes a lifestyle. After all, agreeing with Paul, it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me, and the flesh (my physical self) that I now live in, I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me. (Galatians 2:20) Jesus said in John 10:10 “The thief’s purpose is to steal, kill, and destroy. My purpose is to give you a rich and satisfying life.” I believe this. So my advice to my young friends today is be born again. Be in Christ. Be in the worth that Christ gives you. I pray you receive His peace and stay in His peace no matter what noise is rattling out there. When you insist on hearing Jesus’ voice you will no longer hear that strife.

image