conversation with God: about the issue of faith

the faith of JesusLately I was bogged down by the matter of faith, when confronting the attitude of a whole generation of people (especially the younger ones) who choose to walk the path not assigned by the Lord. When it impacts those whom I care, it becomes my issue too. I do realize that my path has been re-aligned according to the Lord’s plan and I have made a decision to move on as He leads me, but I now linger for those whom I still care. I read the parable of the condition of the soil (Luke 8) again this morning. It speaks afresh. Then I interceded as I took the Holy Communion specifically for some. I asked for wisdom to speak to them later. I received the Lord’s guidance for the counsel I intend to give as I prayed: what to say, how to say them, separately or in a group. Finally in closing the Lord showed me one verse to dispel my fear as I had also interceded for my own fear. I am reminded again of my little faith where my own people are concerned.

The Lord spoke and taught me again on the conditions of heart of people: some are not even saved, some are facing temptation, and some only go after the cares, riches and pleasures of this life. All need to re-direct their attention and focus to God and understand His purpose for them. The obstacles are: the devil who came to the world with the sole purpose to steal, kill, and destroy; the temptations of the world;  the love for things that cause worries, the love for riches, and the love for pleasures. “Am I equipped to speak to them on these dangers and stressors in their lives?” I asked. 

“This is the meaning of the parable: The seed is God’s word. 12 The seeds that fell on the footpath represent those who hear the message, only to have the devil come and take it away from their hearts and prevent them from believing and being saved. 13 The seeds on the rocky soil represent those who hear the message and receive it with joy. But since they don’t have deep roots, they believe for a while, then they fall away when they face temptation. 14 The seeds that fell among the thorns represent those who hear the message, but all too quickly the message is crowded out by the cares and riches and pleasures of this life. And so they never grow into maturity. 15 And the seeds that fell on the good soil represent honest, good-hearted people who hear God’s word, cling to it, and patiently produce a huge harvest. (Luke 8:11-15)

Here is the reply from the Lord:

The Lord spoke and comforted me with these words, “Look at the lilies and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith? (Luke 12:27-28)

Indeed, this is a faith issue. Do I have little faith? I read the word about faith. Here is the assurance.

Galatians 2:20 King James Version (KJV)

20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

The faith is no longer my own little faith. The faith I have is the faith of the Son of God’s faith. Jesus’ faith. This assures me. Thank You, Father. In Jesus’ name, I receive.