A prayer at 3-5 am: I ask the Lord for successor

watchman's prayerDear Lord, Heavenly Father, my Dwelling Place:
Today I know the limit of a man’s appointed time and the remains of days. I ask for godly descendants and successors. Even one. Yes, even if there is only one. Whom will I teach knowledge? And whom will I make to understand the message? “Those just weaned from milk? Those just drawn from the breasts? For precept must be upon precept, precept upon precept, Line upon line, line upon line, Here a little, there a little.”For with stammering lips and another tongue He will speak to this people, To whom He said, “This is the rest with which You may cause the weary to rest,” And, “This is the refreshing”; Yet they would not hear.”(Isaiah 28:9-12) For You instruct the plowman in right judgment, You teach me. (20:26)
Lord, reading the book of Genesis I am reminded of the patience of the first group of human being of the chosen line. Each patriarch waited a long time to give birth to a successor who has a name in your book. Adam was 103 when he had Seth. Seth lived 105 years to beget Enosh. Enoch lived 90 years to beget Cainan. Cainan lived 70 years to beget Mahalalel who lived 65 years to beget Jared. Jared lived 162 years to beget Enoch who begot Methuselah at 65. Methuselah begot Lamech at 187. Lamed had Noah at 182. Abraham begot Isaac at 100. Even Moses had to wait till 120 when Joshua finally succeeded him. I need patience, Lord.
Lord, I am thankful that you have given me this watchman’s blog. For ten years I have plowed. I have given ear and heard Your voice, listened and heard Your speech. You are wonderful in counsel and excellent in guidance!(Isaiah 28:24-28,23,29) You have given me sandals of iron and bronze. As my days, so shall my strength be. (Deuteronomy 33:25) Thank you for reminding me that my days in your presence are strength. Because I have made the Lord who is my refuge, even the Most High, my dwelling place, no evil shall befall me. Nor any plagues shall come near my dwelling; for You have given your angels charge over me, to keep me in all my ways. In their hands they will bear me up, so I shall not dash my foot against a stone. with long life You will satisfy me, and show me Your salvation.(Psalm 91:9-12,16)Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. How sweet are Your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth! Forever, O, Lord, Your word is settled in heaven. Your faithfulness endures to all generations; You established the earth, and it abides. They continue this day according to Your ordinances, for all are Your servants.(Psalm 119:105,103,89-91)
Blessed be the Lord my Rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle-my lovingkindness and my fortress, my high tower and my deliverer, my shield and the One in whom I take refuge. Happy are the people whose God is the Lord. (Psalm 144:1-2,15) You send Your command to the earth; Your word runs very swiftly. You send out Your word to melt hardness. You declare Your word. (Psalm 147:15,18,19)
Lord, You take pleasure in those who fear You, in those who hope in Your mercy. You take pleasure in Your people; You will beautify the humble with salvation. Let the saints be joyful in glory; et them sing aloud on their beds. Let the high praises of God be in our mouth, and a two-edged sword in our hand. (Psalm 147:11;149:4-6)
Yes, Lord, I ask today You bring the successor, the heir, the watchman who is called and hears Your voice. Lord, instruct and teach the next generation of watchman as You have instructed and taught this one and many others, like the seven thousand You have preserved and hidden in Elijah’s time. Let the Spirit of the Lord rest upon them, the Spirit of wisdom and understanding, the Spirit counsel and might, the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the Lord. (Isaiah 11:2)
I pray: “The Lord God has given them
The tongue of the learned,
That they should know how to speak
A word in season to him who is weary.
He awakens them morning by morning,
He awakens their ear
To hear as the learned.
The Lord God has opened their ear;
And they will not be not rebellious,
Nor did they turn away.
They will give their back to those who struck them,
And their cheeks to those who plucked out the beard;
They will not hide their face from shame and spitting.” (Isaiah 50:4-6)
I pray: ‘They will be blessed for they will be poor in spirit, those who mourn, the meek, those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, merciful, pure in heart, peacemakers, and those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake.” (Matthew 5:3-10)
I pray the Holy Spirit fall upon all those who read and hear and receive these words. That the gift of the Holy Spirit be poured out on them. That they speak with tongues and magnify God. (Acts 10:44-46) That because they are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into their hearts, crying out, “Abba, Father!” Therefore they are no longer a slave but a son, and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ. (Galatians 4:6-7) That for they are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus. For as many of them as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female; for they are all one in Christ Jesus. And if they are Christ’s, then they are Abraham’s seed, and heirs according to the promise. (Galatians 3:26-29)
Lastly, I pray that we shall rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ for us. That we shall not quench the Spirit. We shall not despise prophecies. That we shall test all things and hold fast to what is good, abstain from every form of evil. May the God of peace Himself sanctify us completely; and may our whole spirit, soul and body be preserved blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-23)
In Jesus’ name, I pray. Amen.

One thought on “A prayer at 3-5 am: I ask the Lord for successor

Comments are closed.