Jesus’ commission pays well

Matthew 10:40
Bible verse: Matthew 10:40

This is how Jesus instructed His disciples when He sent them out to minister to people in need: (Bible verses quoted from Matthew 10 in parts. Please read the whole chapter)

THE GREAT COMMISSION: PREACHING THE KINGDOM OF GOD AND HEALING THE SICK
7 Go and announce to them that the Kingdom of Heaven is near. 8 Heal the sick, raise the dead, cure those with leprosy, and cast out demons. Give as freely as you have received!

HOW THEY SHOULD BE ALERT OF THE REALITY/ENEMIES LURKING OUT THERE
16 “Look, I am sending you out as sheep among wolves. So be as shrewd as snakes and harmless as doves.

THREAT WILL COME WHEN THEY TELL THE TRUTH, BUT TELL THE TRUTH AS JESUS HAS TAUGHT THEM ANYWAY
26 “But don’t be afraid of those who threaten you. For the time is coming when everything that is covered will be revealed, and all that is secret will be made known to all. 27 What I tell you now in the darkness, shout abroad when daybreak comes. What I whisper in your ear, shout from the housetops for all to hear!

THEY NEED NOT FEAR THE ENEMY BECAUSE GOD WILL PROTECT THEM
28 “Don’t be afraid of those who want to kill your body; they cannot touch your soul. Fear only God, who can destroy both soul and body in hell. 29 What is the price of two sparrows—one copper coin? But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it. 30 And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. 31 So don’t be afraid; you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows.

WHAT EVERYONE DOES ON EARTH HAS RECIPROCATION IN HEAVEN
32 “Everyone who acknowledges me publicly here on earth, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven. 33 But everyone who denies me here on earth, I will also deny before my Father in heaven.

DISCIPLESHIP REQUIRES RIGHT PRIORITY AND IT COMES WITH EVEN GREATER GAINS
37 “If you love your father or mother more than you love me, you are not worthy of being mine; or if you love your son or daughter more than me, you are not worthy of being mine. 38 If you refuse to take up your cross and follow me, you are not worthy of being mine. 39 If you cling to your life, you will lose it; but if you give up your life for me, you will find it.

GOD’S EXPECTS RECEPTION AND HOSPITALITY FOR HIS MESSENGERS/REPRESENTATIVES, AND ASSURES REWARDS WHICH ARE FAR GREATER THAN WHAT ANYONE CAN PAY OUT
40 “Anyone who receives you receives me, and anyone who receives me receives the Father who sent me. 41 If you receive a prophet as one who speaks for God, you will be given the same reward as a prophet. And if you receive righteous people because of their righteousness, you will be given a reward like theirs. 42 And if you give even a cup of cold water to one of the least of my followers, you will surely be rewarded.”

