A watchman’s conviction, confession, convalescence

Mark 1:35 Jesus, the Son of God, had a busy schedule: traveling from town to town. Teaching in synagogues, healing many sick with various diseases, and casting out many demons from those demon-possessed. (the whole city was gathered at the door!) His fame spread throughout the region. People were amazed at the “new doctrine” He taught and the authority He commanded (even the unclean spirits obeyed Him).

After describing the above Mark went on and recorded the following event(s), the personal life of Jesus.

35 Now in the morning, having risen a long while before daylight, He (Jesus) went out and departed to a solitary place; and there He prayed. 36 And Simon and those who were with Him searched for Him.

Why did Jesus rise up so early and pray in a solitary place? The disciples did not even know and had to look for Him! Why did Jesus not bring them along?

37 When they found Him, they said to Him, “Everyone is looking for You.”

But He did not answer their implied question, “Don’t you know you have gained great popularity and a large group of followers are down there waiting?! Why are you up here alone? Up here there is nothing to do. Your work i down there with the people ad supporters!”

38 But He said to them, “Let us go into the next towns, that I may preach there also, because for this purpose I have come forth.”

Jesus had His own focus. He knew His calling and purpose and plan and schedule, do what, where, and how, and what for, and for whom, and to whom…How did He know the details? Through His solitary meeting with His Father in heaven in those very early hours (long before daylight) in prayers.

I quote below some of the stunning statements Jesus revealed to His disciples about the relationship He had with God (His Father in heaven). What He learned from God and what He had to carry out exactly as His Father had instructed. I believe Jesus received all these during all those moments of solitary prayers.

John 5:17-30 New King James Version (NKJV) (Quoted in parts)
17 But Jesus answered them, “My Father has been working until now, and I have been working.”
19 Then Jesus answered and said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of Himself, but what He sees the Father do; for whatever He does, the Son also does in like manner. 20 For the Father loves the Son, and shows Him all things that He Himself does; and He will show Him greater works than these, that you may marvel. 21 For as the Father raises the dead and gives life to them, even so the Son gives life to whom He will. 22 For the Father judges no one, but has committed all judgment to the Son, 23 that all should honor the Son just as they honor the Father. He who does not honor the Son does not honor the Father who sent Him.
24 “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who hears My word and believes in Him who sent Me has everlasting life, …
30 I can of Myself do nothing. As I hear, I judge; and My judgment is righteous, because I do not seek My own will but the will of the Father who sent Me.

What Jesus told His disciples later was even more stunning and apply to all who believe in Jesus. We can know the things of God and do them. How do we receive from God? God is Spirit. We are humans. As Jesus stated below, God sends His Holy Spirit to tell us exactly what God will enable us to do just as what He had shown Jesus and done by Jesus on earth!

John 14 (quoted in parts)
12 “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. 13 And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.
26 …the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.
John 16 (quoted in parts)
13 …when He, the Spirit of truth, has come, He will guide you into all truth; for He will not speak on His own authority, but whatever He hears He will speak; and He will tell you things to come. 14 He will glorify Me, for He will take of what is Mine and declare it to you. 15 All things that the Father has are Mine. Therefore I said that He will take of Mine and declare it to you.

Reading the testimonies of many Spirit-filled people of faith who did signs and wonders just as Jesus did on earth, I realize that they were all led by the Holy Spirit. They could hear and obeyed what the Holy Spirit told them. How did they have such a supernatural ability? The Holy Spirit is Spirit. Well, the following verse tells us how.
1 Corinthians 6:17 But he who is joined to the Lord is one spirit with Him.

Personally I have experienced the closeness and supernatural ability to access the spiritual and supernatural by worships and prayers in tongue and soak myself in the presence of our Lord. I watch and followed the worship and prayer videos of those who have served the Lord for many years, walked in signs and wonders, brought many souls to Christ, and done the work of Jesus and brought forth fruit just as Jesus said. The practitioners of the Holy Spirit led ministry.

God looks for fruit. Jesus taught us to watch the fruit. Prayers should bring forth actions of sowing and planting and fruit bearing. That is how the Kingdom of God has been advancing since Jesus came. This is my personal conviction and what I have witnessed all these years since born again by the Spirit of the Lord and avalanched by the love of God in 1983.

p/s: I took awhile to write this. About two weeks ago I started watching a missionary’s testimonies. I was reminded in my spirit that I needed to review my prayer life. I was led to read the verse from Mark 1:35. I knew it was a confirmation from the Lord that my prayer life was in need of an entire overhaul. So I cleared up a space in my sitting room and started daily worshiping and praying in the spirit with the passion I had some years back. I had to leave my busyness aside with reluctance. This act of faith is worth the efforts. I am reminded of the reality of the verse from Hebrews: 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. Indeed, the reward is great. We serve an awesome God!

Leave a comment

